Time To Live

I was listening to one of my mentors speak last night on a recording of a session that she gave at NICABM in December.  She reminded all of us that we are “only unloved in our heads” and that “our existence proves we are loved”.  So many of us walk around believing we are not loved or that we are unloveable, that what we did in our lives, doesn’t deem us worthy of love, but the truth is we were born in Love, forgiven in Love, and are love and loved as a result, we need to accept that and believe…and start living.  Hope you are living knowing you are loved today.

By the way, this photo was taken at 5:30 AM off the coast of Bermuda, coming into the harbor…

3 thoughts on “Time To Live

  1. Thank you for the pingpack to my site, Kris. I appreciate it.

    I read your post and I’m not sure if I agree with the whole of it, but it is a point of view that I am willing to deeply consider. In my experience, the surest way to really esteem oneself is to to do worthy and difficult things, not cut corners. And the way to be loved is to also be likeable–to be easy on the eyes, ears, heart, et cetera–and to also treat others kindly, compassionately, with understanding. And while, personally, sure, it would be nice to be loved and liked more by others, it’s as important if not more so for me to be true to what’s deepest and best in myself, even if that is not popular or not something for mass consumption. I certainly have my tannins, lol.

    Do I believe I am loveable and worthy of love? Yes, certainly. Do I believe that others love me or capable of loving me? Not really; I think Love–the real stuff–is an extremely rare capacity; and while I think most people are capable of affection, warmth, kindness, even compassion, real love is much more than these, much more durable and deep and abiding than these; it doesn’t break down easily and is not removed easily, and it cares immensely about who the other is and becomes. M. Scott Peck has written brilliantly about real love in his “The Road Less Traveled.”

    Also, another blogger wrote this poem after reading one of my posts (I think); and I think it squares well with what you are saying in your post — http://celestealluvial.wordpress.com/2012/02/18/a-pearl-of-truth-a-pearl-of-great-price/

    Namaste and warmest regards,

    John

    • Hi John

      I have read your comment through several times and I am not sure where we differ. I think so often people don’t believe they are loved or are worthy of love. I work with folks who feel this way every day. [And], so often they are told to love others and do “good”, be kind, and in so doing they will feel and experience love. What happens so often is that they burnout trying, or go deeper into “devalue” because they “aren’t doing it well enough”, “or they must be doing something wrong”, etc. What I was trying to say is that instead of “fighting” the idea that we are loved, and loved deeply because we are here on this earth, at this time, and having this belief that we are “terminally” unloveable, perhaps consider that it is not about worth. In so doing when we believe we are love, and treat ourselves with self honor/care, like that which is in us, then we over flow that love to those around us. I think it is in that knowing that we are able to do worthy and difficult things, and not cut corners. I think we can be likeable when we give ourselves the honor and regard that we are loved and accept ourselves as love…and then we overflow kindness, compassion, joy, grace, love, patience, etc. I was not talking about being loved and accepted by others. I was encouraging each of us to embrace in ourselves the truth that we came into this world in love, and to go into the depths of our soul to confront the lies, understand the truths, and come out overflowing with love – I think in a deeper capacity towards that which you refer to as “the real stuff”. So much more could be said towards this discussion, perhaps some day…

      I love the discussion. I think we are saying similar things, perhaps in different verbiage. Thanks so much for taking the time to dialogue. It is late, and I will continue to ponder. Any time we are furthering such discussion, I think there is gain. I trust you feel similarly. Have a good night.

  2. Pingback: URL

Would love to hear from you...

hook pottery paper

ceramic sculpture, prints, artists' books, handmade paper, pottery, fresh eggs

Where is Paperwoman?

Journey with her around the world of paper.

Tina Festa

My own room with a view! La mia camera con vista sul mondo.

Garden of Eden Blog

psychological, life, death, the whole catastrophe

It Takes A Year

Stories with Art By Kristin Maija Peterson

hurdlestohappiness

Helping Viewers Overcome Daily Obstables and Ultimately Achieve Happiness

365 Days of Dave

Watch Dave try to unscramble himself

Eggshells

Sketches and other media by M. L. Webb

The Writers Circle

creative writing community, craft and inspiration

bwthoughts

copyright 2013 - no reuse without permission ( see bwfiction.wordpress.com for fiction and fantasy )

Teacher-preneur

Make money. Help others. It's that simple.

Living The Seasons

Finding Beauty & Laughter Everywhere

What Is Real True Love?

"(Real) love is the only sane and satisfactory answer to the problem of human existence.” - Erich Fromm

bwfiction

the fiction wing of bwthoughts.wordpress.com

Poems From Psalms And Nature

Ellen Grace Olinger

DarkBrightly

An Experimental Blog

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

mypenandme

poetry, writing, 3WW, doodles, screenwriting, photography, art, self-expression

Ute smile

Ute's Happy World

Colin Murdoch Studio

Natural, relaxed, creative wedding and portrait photography from a husband and wife team based in Skipton, North Yorkshire. Serving Yorkshire, Lancashire and the UK.

Kami's Beautiful Morning

Keeping it real. Sharing the not so obvious. Expressing gratitude.

Poems, stories, paintings and more by Sharmishtha Basu

(Agnijaat, Agnishatdal, Agnijashatadalama, Indie Adda)

Mirth and Motivation

Motivate. Elevate. Laugh. Live Positively...

Poetry and Art

by Francina & Guests

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

The Cook, The Baker and The Clay Boy Maker

Food and Art and things that make my Heart go YAY!

Radical Amazement

life as a creative being

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

